One year abroad in Germany

Hallo ich heiße Lada and I was for Sommer in den USA,  because of it spreche Ich not german!

Only a week after my USA internship I left Czech Republic again. This time for 11 months in Germany  – Regensburg (an ERASMUS exchange program). I was not prepared to leave my USA memories because it all happened so fast.

So I started ones again. I got a room at student dorm and I attend an intensive (one month) language (German) course. They have put me to level B1+ ( pretty good for someone who speak German with 80% of English words). I thought that my presenc will be the biggest joke of the language group but It wasn’t so bad.

I know that you impatiently wait when will be my first dumpster experience in Germany… It didn’t take more than 2 weeks when my boyfriend came to visit me for a weekend and we tried to find something (dumpster) during our city explores but most of the trash containers were locked. The other part was monitored by cameras. But we were lucky ! We have seen an older lady who separated huge pile of food behind a local supermarket. It was like a craziest dumpster dream ever but it was real. We offered her some help and she accepted it.

That was my first time there, first time in the kingdom of wasted food.

The older lady worked for animal organisation  which needed all the wasted food to feed their animals. It was all arranged with the supermarket so It couldn’t be more legal. She was used to go there for unsalable food every Monday and Friday and she invited me to join her again.

She saved in her life so much food that it is impossible to even imagine. That all was from 90% totally ok and if I would eat it just by myself it would take me at least half a year to finish it. That first day we worked there  3 hours till everything was done and I cannot imagine how long would it taken her to finish it.

We have got as a reward whatever we wanted so we left with pile of vegetable and fruits.

Heaven?… Hell?…

Etwas  wusste ich sicher, dass das alles zu gut für die Tonne war!

Lada

3 thoughts on “One year abroad in Germany

Leave a comment